

The Florida Bar



Jesse H. Diner
President

John F. Harkness, Jr. Executive Director Mayanne Downs
President-elect

June 22, 2010

Mr. John B. Neukamm, Chair Mechanik Nuccio Hearne & Wester, P.A. 305 S. Boulevard Tampa, FL 33606

Re:

Report of Florida Bar Executive Committee Action

VIA E-MAIL ONLY

Dear Mr. Neukamm:

On June 18, 2010 the Executive Committee of The Florida Bar considered the request by the Real Property, Probate & Trust Law Section for a new section legislative position.

Upon review of the request and commentary from the Consumer Protection Law Committee, the Board determined the proposal was consistent with applicable Bar policy concerning section legislative activity (SBP 9.50) and opted to not prohibit section advocacy of that issue. Consistent with your submission, this newly recognized position of the Real Property, Probate & Trust Law Section will be officially published within the 2008-10 Master List of Positions on The Florida Bar's website as follows:

Supports repeal F.S. §689.262(2008), providing for disclosure of windstorm mitigation rating, including supporting an override of the veto of HB 545.

As you know, legislative advocacy by sections must conform to Bylaw 2-7.5 of the Rules Regulating The Florida Bar which specifies that such activities by a section be clearly distinguished from the separate agenda of The Florida Bar.

And, for the benefit of all involved in Bar legislative activities, the Office of Governmental Affairs maintains a listing of individuals who might be directly lobbying legislators on any section position. Our listing includes the names of all "contacts" listed on your original Legislative Position Request Form as well as the section chair and legislative chair. However, if you anticipate legislative visits or appearances by persons other than those cited above, please advise us as soon as possible.

If you have any questions or need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Elizabeth May

Administrative Assistant

Wash May

cc: Julia Harris, Chair, Consumer Protection Law Committee